Revising a Workflow Schedule Post-Launch

Access to this product feature is dependent on your institution's Watermark agreement
Base | Faculty Accomplishments | Reviews, Promotion and Tenure | Web Profiles

When a schedule is confirmed and launched, there are a handful of changes that may still be made. Supported changes to an active process are outlined in more detail below.

Changing Assigned Reviewers

If you need to change the reviewer assignment(s) for your launched schedule, you can do so by editing the schedule, viewing the affected step, and then selecting to edit the reviewers. You can replace administrative reviewers, and add/remove/replace committee members. These changes will impact the open submissions associated with the schedule and take effect immediately.

See How to Adjust Reviewers or Committee Members Post-Launch for more details.

Note: Changes to reviewers for an active process may not be made from the standalone Role Group screen, which was used to set up the process.

 

Changing Due Dates

If you need to change the due dates for steps in your launched schedule, you can do so by editing each affected step. Please note that if you edit a step’s due date to fall after the due dates you originally configured for subsequent steps, you’ll also need to update those subsequent steps’ due dates as well before you can save your changes to the schedule. The system will provide prompts to help you identify which other steps need new due dates.

Once you save your changes, the updated due dates will take effect across all remaining open submissions for that schedule.

 

Note: Due dates cannot be changed to an earlier date. 

 

Changing Reporting Dates 

Reporting dates can be changed by editing the step in which the report is located in the Schedule's Configuration tab, changing the reporting date, and then saving your changes. 

When you save updated reporting dates for an active schedule, you’ll also choose how the new dates should affect the reports already attached to existing submissions. Keep in mind that the reports are initially run and attached when the schedule launches, and users can (and should) refresh them before they submit their step. With that in mind, the two options for applying new reporting dates are to:

  • Save: the new reporting dates but not proactively refresh reports on behalf of users. This is your best option if you want to give your users a choice over if/when they refresh their report to use the new start and end dates.
  • Save and Refresh: to apply the new reporting dates to all submissions and proactively refresh the attached reports on behalf of your users. This is a good option if you’re making the report date change well before anyone’s actually engaged in the process (e.g., you just launched and need to correct a date typo). This option will refresh reports for all open submissions in the schedule. This means reports for submissions beyond the initial candidate step could have their content changed.

    Note: The type of reports in your schedule cannot be changed post-launch.

Modifying Email Settings for Steps 

After a schedule is confirmed (active), the individual email settings may not be modified further. If emails for a step need to be cancelled, it's important to keep in mind that this action will stop all currently scheduled reminders, final reminders, and overdue alert emails. Furthermore, it will prevent any new emails of these types from being scheduled.

However, it's worth noting that canceling reminders will not impact invitation emails. Invitation emails will continue to be sent when submissions progress to a step where invitation emails are enabled.

Cancelling emails may be done by editing the Email Settings for the step and clicking the toggle to Cancel Emails. When clicked, a final confirmation box will appear as the action cannot be undone. This will change the toggle from Yes to No, and update all email notification types on the page.

Screenshot 2023-04-03 at 3.50.09 PM.png

 

Terminating a Schedule

You may encounter cases where a Schedule needs to be rolled back immediately after launching to make corrections to your Template or Schedule. The Terminate function (found under the ACTIONS column for any active schedules) can be used for this purpose.

 

Note: The Terminate action cannot be undone and it results in deleting all submission data associated with the Schedule. Only utilize this function if absolutely necessary.

 

Viewing the Status of an active Schedule 

When viewing a template's list of schedules, there is a "Status" column that displays "Open" or "Closed" after a schedule has been launched. The meaning of each of these statuses is listed below.

Open: There are one or more submissions associated with the schedule that are currently in progress.

Closed: All submissions associated with the schedule have a "Completed" or "Cancelled" step status, or the Workflow Administrator requested that the schedule be closed via a general work request

Screenshot

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

How to Contact Support
There are many ways to reach out! Click here for our support options.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for consultation, training, and implementation companion courses.