The Reconcile Review Area

At any time during the multiple review process, the Reconciler is able to access the reviews and decide whether additional reviews are needed or whether the item is ready to be reconciled. Whether you begin from the Reviews to be Reconciled link of the home page Review area, or locate items on the Workspace Review grid, the Reconcile button changes the status of that item to "Reconciliation in Progress" and navigates you to the Review area for the selected submission.

Note: When a Reconcile Reviewer clicks a View/Edit link for an item on the Workspace Review grid, the Review screen to which he or she is navigated will also include reconciliation functionality. In such a case, if you decide that the item is Ready to Reconcile, even though the set number of reviews for that item has not been completed, all outstanding reviews (i.e. those not marked complete) will be suspended.

Just as when you are performing a Review, this area loads with the Review/Score tab selected by default. Other tabs in this area enable you to access the work submission (View Work) and the Review History. The left panel of the screen contains the buttons you will use to access the various functions of this screen.

The Review/Score tab defaults to display the Review Summary, with the scores for all of the completed reviews and the average of the given scores.

On the Review Summary, each Score is annotated with the name of the Reporting Reviewer and the Date on which the Review was completed.

You can change this summary display to view the Review Summary with details (adding the Reviewers' comments), a Full Report for any one of the Reviewers or All Reviews with Full Reports. Once an item has been reconciled, you can also return to this area to view a Full Report for Reconciled Review, showing the final score together with any details of the reconciliation.

To change this display

  1. Select a filter option from the pull-down Show menu
  2. Click Go

Reconciliation Review Area Tasks

The left panel of this Review area contains a column of function buttons you can use to initiate Reconciliation and Review tasks.

At the top of that column is a message related to the current status of the submission (for example, the number of reviews performed and completed or, in the case of an already-reconciled item, that the work has already been reviewed and released to the Participating Area).

The date/time the Participating Area Submitted this item displays below the buttons.

The selection of buttons in the panel varies based on the current status of the submission as well as your permissions.

Several of the buttons in the left panel can be used to access the work in a version of the side-by-side review display that enables you to perform a Reconciliation.

Click... To...
Ready for Reconciliation begin a new reconciliation
Resume Reconciliation return to a reconciliation begun during a previous work session but not completed
Edit Review edit one of your own completed reviews, prior to reconciliation
Edit Reconciled Review edit a completed reconciliation. This does not change the individual reviews upon which reconciliation was based.

Other buttons enable tasks related to revision or cancellation.

Click... To...
Send Back for Revision

send the work back to the Participating Area without a reconciliation of current reviews. This function is also available after reconciliation has been performed.

 When Send Back for Revision is activated, ALL REVIEWS for this submission are CANCELLED.

Cancel All Reviews cancel ALL individual reviews prior to reconciliation
Cancel Reconciled Review
(subsequent to reconciliation) cancel ONLY the reconciled review.

When you cancel a reconciled review, the individual reviews remain and can be used to reconcile the submission again. Note that even though you cancel a reconciled review, a record of that review remains in the history log.

To cancel a reconciled review

  1. Click Cancel Reconciled Review
  2. A message window displays, asking you to confirm this action
  3. (Optional) Click Do NOT Cancel to leave the Reconciled Review as is.
  4. Click the Cancel (Delete) Reconciled Review button to complete this process. The submission reverts to the status "Ready for Reconciliation"
Cancel - Review later return to the work screen from which you began, leaving the status of the submission unchanged.
Call for Additional Reviews
reach out for additional reviews if you feel you cannot reconcile this item based on the reviews that have been completed .

If you continue with this action, all eligible reviewers (those who have not already reviewed this item and who have permission to review this participating area) will be able to complete another review. Once complete, this item can be reconciled again.

Click Call for Additional Review (Arbitration) to confirm that you want to proceed.

 

You can print the visible contents of the Review/Score tab or save it as a PDF. 

Buttons at the bottom of the column in the left panel provide two approaches to printing the Review report. Both of these options print only the information that is currently visible (based on your selection from the pull-down Show menu)

Print Generate a print-ready version of the visible Review report and open on screen to send to your printer.
Save as PDF Generate a PDF version of the visible Review report and open on screen in your PDF viewer. You can print this PDF or save to your computer.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more
How to Contact Support
Click the "Submit A Request" button at the top right or bottom of the screen to create a case.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for free webinars, workshops, certifications, and free on-demand training