Enabling, Disabling and Deleting User Accounts

If a user's account falls into one of the following categories, you can choose whether it should be disabled, deleted, or re-enabled.

  • Disable: Users should no longer have access to Faculty Success, but their data should be maintained for historical reporting and managed through the Manage Data utility.
  • Delete: Deleting a user's data permanently removes that data from Faculty Success, implying that the user's data is no longer required.
  • Re-enable: The user's account was previously disabled, but the user now requires access to Faculty Success.

If you need to modify ten or more accounts, see this article for instructions on how to submit a request to have this done in bulk, or you can do it through Web Services. 

 

Disabling a User Account

How to find Disabled Accounts 

When viewing the users from the Users & Security utility you may notice you can include disabled accounts when searching for a user by checking the box by "Include disabled users." 

 

Screenshot 2024-05-16 at 1.14.58 AM.png

Other ways you can determine that an account is disabled is by downloading the All User Information report that can be downloaded from the Users & Security utility page by clicking on the Download All User Information." From the report the disabled users will appear in the "Enabled?" column of the All User Information report with a value of "No." 

Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.25.35 PM.png

 

How to Disable a User Account 

  1. From the Navigation Bar, go to the Users & Security utility.
  2. Enter the user's information into the name, username, or email fields and click the "Search" button to search for their account.
  3. Then select the pencil icon within the "Edit" column to the left of the user's name to open the Edit User page for that user.
    Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.34.24 PM.png

  4. From the top of the Edit User page for the user, select the option "Disable User" to disable their account. Keep in mind that if you make any changes to users account prior to selecting the "Disable User" button, those changes will not be saved rather you must save those changes, return back to the User Edit page and then select "Disable User" to disable the user's account with your changes.
    Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.37.38 PM.png

    You will then be returned to the Users & Security page, where you can search for the user's account again, and their account will now be dimmed, indicating that their account has been disabled and if selected to edit, there will be a message indicating that their account is disabled. 

    Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.57.46 PM.png

Enabling a Disabled User Account

  1. From the Navigation Bar, go to the Users & Security utility.
  2. Check the checkbox by "Include disabled users."
  3. Enter the user's information into the name, username, or email fields and click the "Search" button to search for their account.
  4. Then select the pencil icon within the "Edit" column to the left of the user's name to open the Edit User page for that user.
    Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.34.24 PM.png
  5. From the top of the Edit User page for the user, select the option "Enable User" to enable their account. Keep in mind that if you make any changes to users account prior to selecting the "Enable User" button, those changes will not be saved rather you must save those changes, return back to the User Edit page and then select "Enable User" to enable the user's account with your changes.
    Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.57.46 PM.png

Deleting a User Account

Before proceeding, it is important to note that deleting a users account permanently erases all of the data associated with it, including all activity entries. So it is important that you do not delete a user account unless you are certain you will never need the data in the future. 

How to Delete a Users Account

If you decide to delete a user account, we recommend to export the users data via an Export Raw Data Report before deleting their account as this data will be lost after deleting their account. Once the users data has been exported, continue with the following steps.

  1. From the Navigation Bar, go to the Users & Security utility.
  2. Enter the user's information into the name, username, or email fields and click the "Search" button to search for their account. If the user account is disabled, make sure to include disabled users in your search results by checking the checkbox by "Include disabled users."
  3. Then select the pencil icon within the "Edit" column to the left of the user's name to open the Edit User page for that user.
    Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.34.24 PM.png

  4. From the top of the Edit User page for the user, select the option "Delete User" to delete their account and then select "OK" to confirm that you want to delete this account and it's data permanentlyFaculty Success will remove the user account and all of its associated data. 
    Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 4.37.38 PM.png

Disable and Delete Buttons are Unavailable

Some user accounts cannot be deleted or disabled through the Users & Security utility. By clicking on the hyperlinks that question why an action is not available within the Edit User page, you will be provided with a reason why the account cannot be disabled or deleted.

Screenshot 2023-07-18 at 5.20.42 PM.png

For any assistance in resolving these items, submit a General work request to Faculty Success (see Submitting Work Requests for more details on submitting this type of work request).

Note: User accounts with the Administrator role cannot be disabled nor deleted from the Users & Security utility. A general work request must be submitted for assistance.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

How to Contact Support
There are many ways to reach out! Click here for our support options.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for consultation, training, and implementation companion courses.
Watermark Customer Community
Engage and connect with others!