Skip to main content

Manually Edit User Information

The following article provides information on how to manually edit user information in a project.



Access Edit User Mode

In a Project:
  1. Navigate to the Project where the user you would like to edit is located in. 
  2. From the project, click on the Users tab.
  3. Search for the desired course using the fields within the Search table. 
  4. Once you have located the desired user in the Users table, click on the Edit (pencil icon), located to the right of the respective user, to enter Edit User mode.


Edit User Mode

In Edit User mode, you will be able to make the following changes:
  1. Edit User's First/Last Name.
  2. Edit User's email Address.
  3. It is not recommended to edit a user's Username during an In-Progress project. If the username exists elsewhere in the system, you will not be able to edit the username. To change a username, it is best to create a new user account with the correct username first, enroll it in the appropriate courses and then unenroll the account with the incorrect username from all their courses.
  4. Under User Status, you can Disable or Lock the user's account
    1. Enabled User status is the default and allows the user to access CES.
    2. Disabled User status will disable the user’s account for ALL roles.  The user will not be able to access CES.
    3. Locked User status will disable the user’s account for ALL roles.  The user will not be able to access CES.
      Note: Disable User and Locked User are functionally the same: the user cannot access CES.  The two statuses are to give options to differentiate different reasons for restricting access.  For example, you might wish to disable a user who has left permanently and lock users who are gone for a temporary amount of time like a sabbatical. 
  5. Login as this User - you can log in as the user to view their account as they would see it. To learn more about how to login as the user see the following video guide: 

  6. Reset Email Login Link: If a user accidentally shares an email communication that contains their user specific Login URL, you can reset the Login URL by selecting Reset Email Login Link. The Login URL will immediately be disabled and a new one will be issued, which you can then be emailed to the user directly.
  7. Email User: Conveniently email a specific user by selecting Email User
  8. Unenroll the user from courses within the project.

    NOTE: 

    • Unenrolling Students: Unenrolling students within an In-Progress project who have already submitted responses, will remove any of the student's responses from results!
    • Unenrolling Instructors: Unenrolling instructors within an In-Progress project that are enrolled in a team-taught course, when team-taught questions are enabled on the survey, will result in a loss of data for that instructor's team-taught question results!

  9. Enroll users as Students/Instructors in other courses within the project.

 

Reset Respondent Survey

In Edit User mode, you will be able to reset a student/respondent's response.  A video guide on how to reset a student's response is provided below, along with more details on how to perform this action. 


  1. Re-open: This action will re-open the survey for the student for a specific course, which will make the survey active again for the student/respondent, without losing their previous submissions. Use this option if the student needs to make minor changes. If the survey is still active for the course, Re-open will be the default option.
  2. Reset: This action will reset the survey for the student for a specific course, which will delete their responses for all questions to the course. Use this option if the student needs to re-take the entire survey. If the survey access period has ended for the course, Reset will be the default option.

 

                         

Optional Metadata

Metadata can be manually added to the users, which can be used to filter the user in Raw Data Reports or in Report Builder 2.0.

To add metadata:

  1. Click Add Optional Metadata.
  2. Enter the name of the metadata.
  3. Enter the value of the metadata.
  4. Click Save.
Once created, you can click Edit to edit the metadata or Delete to delete the metadata. To learn more about Metadata see: Course and User Metadata Functionality

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more
How to Contact Support
There are many ways to reach out! Click here for our support options.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for consultation, training, and implementation companion courses.