Creating, Updating, Disabling and Deleting Users in Bulk

You can add, update, disable and delete users one by one through the Faculty Success Users and Security utility. But this can be cumbersome when you need to perform these actions in bulk. To create, update, disable or delete more than 10 users, you can simply submit a CSV file in a work request with the relevant information, as follows.

Creating New Users

  • Submit a User Creation work request
  • Attach a CSV file with core user information (first, middle and last names, username, email address) and all applicable administrative data (e.g., college, department, and the academic year for which this data is current)
  • See Creating and Managing User Accounts in Bulk for more details and an example CSV

Updating/Modifying Existing Users

  • Submit a General work request
  • Attach a CSV file with an unchanging user identifier (typically, the username) and whatever attribute you'd like to update (e.g. the name fields, a secondary identifier, etc.)
  • Include a sentence or two about what you'd like us to do (e.g., "we need to update our users' Banner ID in Faculty Success, please use the attached file to do that")
  • If you need to update your users' Faculty Success usernames in bulk, you'll need to provide a column in the CSV for a user identifier that won't be changing (typically, the internal DM User ID)

Disabling Existing Users

  • Submit a General work request
  • Attach a CSV file with a single USERNAME (or other user identifier) column and the associated list of users
  • Include a sentence explaining what you'd like us to do with the list of users (e.g., "please disable the attached users")
  • You do not need to provide anything other than the list of users in a CSV to bulk disable users

Deleting Existing Users

  • Submit a General work request
  • Attach a CSV file with a single USERNAME (or other user identifier) column and the associated list of users
  • Include a sentence explaining what you'd like us to do with the list of users (e.g., "please delete the attached users")
  • You do not need to provide anything other than the list of users in a CSV to bulk delete users
  • PLEASE NOTE that deleting users is final and will delete any associated data (we typically recommend disabling users who no longer need access to your Faculty Success database)
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

How to Contact Support
Click the "Submit A Request" button at the top right or bottom of the screen to create a case.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for free webinars, workshops, certifications, and free on-demand training