Share a LiveText Document

About Document Sharing

Sharing allows a document's author to share the document with other LiveText users, LiveText groups, Visitor Passes, or shared as a public URL or web address. Documents can be shared with editor or viewer permissions. A user with view access can view, copy, and print the document. A user with edit access can modify the document as well as view, copy, and print it. Visitors can only be added as viewers.
 

  • Sharing a document does not create a copy of the document.
  • Each person that is given access to the document has access to the original document.
  • If a shared document is modified then all users with shared access will be able to view the modifications.
  • If a shared document is deleted, that document is also deleted for all users with shared access.


Share a Document for Editing

  1. From within the document, click the Share button. The Share button is located above the page title.
  2. From within the document, click the Share this document button, located above the page title.
  3. Enter the LiveText username, group, Visitor Pass, or the first and last name in the Search Editor text box.
  4. Click the Add to Share button when you find the user(s) with whom you want to share.

Once the document has been shared with another LiveText user as an editor, the user can access the document from his/her Inbox.


 Share a Document for Viewing

  1. Enter the LiveText username, group, Visitor Pass, or the first and last name in the Search Viewer text box.
  2. Based on the first few letters of text entered, LiveText's Autocomplete Share Mechanism predicts the name or username of the LiveText member with whom the user wants to share. The system will display the first 15 matches below the search text box. If the user is not listed, the system was not able to identify the user. There were either no matches or several matches. Revise your entry, and try again.
  3. Click the Add to Share button when you find the user(s) with whom you want to share.


Advanced Sharing Options

While sharing a document for viewing or editing, there is a link within the share window for Advanced sharing options. This link enables users to view the list of the document viewers, editors, and visitors. Advanced options also include the ability to search for LiveText users, share and remove users from shared access.


On the Advanced Sharing page, there is an Advanced Access Options link, located above the users list. Clicking this link provides options for setting the document's shared access level. The options are:


Private: Documents may be set for only the creator to see or modify.


Shared: Documents may be set for viewers to see and editors to modify.


Public: Documents may be set for anyone to see, given that they have been provided a link or the URL (web address) of the document. Only editors can modify.


Library: Documents may be placed in the LiveText Library for all LiveText members to view. Only editors can modify.

Note:

By default, LiveText will search only users within your domain. A domain is often, but not always, synonymous with a school. To search for LiveText users in other domains, select the radio button next to All Users located to the right of the search area.


Once the document has been shared with another LiveText user as a viewer, the user can access the document from his/her Inbox.

If you would like to make a document public, then you will need to change the access settings on the document.  To set the access setting for a LiveText document, follow these steps:
 
1. Open the document by clicking its title.
2. Click the "Share this document" button.
3. Click the "Advanced sharing options..." button.
4. Click the "Advanced Access Options" button.
5. Click one of the following radio buttons:
     * "Private" (only creator can see or modify)
     * "Shared" (viewers can see; editors can modify)
     * "Public" (anyone can see, only editors can modify)
6. Click the "Save" button.
 
When a LiveText document is public, you may view the document without logging into a LiveText account and without a visitor’s pass.  Public documents are accessible to anyone on the Internet.
 
While you are logged into the account in which the document was created and the document is open, a URL (web address) will appear in the address bar of your web browser.  While you are not logged into a LiveText account, you will need to use this same address to view the public document.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more
How to Contact Support
Click the "Submit A Request" button at the top right or bottom of the screen to create a case.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for free webinars, workshops, certifications, and free on-demand training