Closing and Reopening Course Sections

This article explains how instructors end and reopen course sections in Student Leadership & Learning (SL&L).

By default, all course sections in SL&L remain open indefinitely. Once a section completes, instructors can end the section. Ending a section removes it from the In Progress tab for all members and adds it to their timelines. Ending a section also prevents any further submission or assessment for the section's activities.

Ending a Section

  • On the In Progress tab, click Close Section in the top right corner of the section.

In Progress tab displaying a course section card with options to view details or click Close Section in the upper right corner.

Reopening Sections

Instructors can reopen sections from their timeline. Reopened sections return to the In Progress tab, retaining all activities and their submission or assessment status.

To reopen a section:

  • On the Timeline, click the pencil icon in the top right corner of the section.
  • Click Reopen Section.

Timeline page showing a course section with the edit pencil icon highlighted and the Reopen Section option available.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 7 found this helpful

Articles in this section

How to Contact Support
There are many ways to reach out! Click the icon above for our support options.
Watermark Academy
Click the icon above to access the Watermark Academy for consultation, training, and implementation companion courses.
Customer Community
Can’t find the answer? Ask fellow users how they’re making the most of Watermark in our Community!