Disabling and Deleting User Accounts

Disabling a User Account

Disabling a user account prevents the person from accessing Faculty Success, although you are still able to maintain that user's activities using the Manage Data utility. We dim the display of disabled accounts in the list of user accounts on the Users and Security page.

To disable a user account:

  1. In Faculty Success, select Users and Security in the Navigation Bar.
  2. Search for the user or find the user in the list at the bottom of the page.
  3. Then select the pencil (edit) icon to the left of the user's name to open the Edit User page for that user.

    The pencil (edit) icon in the list of user accounts

  4. Select Disable User.
  5. The user account is now disabled and dimmed in the list on the Users and Security page.

    Users list on Users and Security page showing a disabled user account.

Warning: If you made changes to any of the other elements of the user's account prior to selecting the Disable User button, Faculty Success will not save these changes when you select Disable User.

Deleting a User Account

Warning: Deleting an account permanently erases all of the data associated with it, including all activity entries. Do not delete a user account unless you are certain you will never need the data in the future.

Most of the time, you will want to disable user accounts rather than delete them. Deleting a user account also deletes all of the activity data associated with that user. In most cases, you will want to retain activity data for users who no longer work with your campus so that you can prepare accurate historical reports. If you decide to delete a user account, first use the Create a new report (formerly Run an Ad Hoc report) function within the Run Report utility to export all of the user's data.

To delete a user account:

  1. Retrieve a copy of the user's data by running a created report. For more information, see Creating Reports.
  2. Select Users and Security in the Navigation Bar.
  3. Search for the user or find the user in the list at the bottom of the page.
  4. Then select the pencil (edit) icon to the left of the user's name to open the Edit User page for that user.

    The pencil (edit) icon in the list of user accounts.

  5. Select Delete User at the top of the page and then select OK to confirm that you want to delete this account permanently.
  6. Faculty Success will remove the user account and all of its associated data.

Warning: You cannot restore deleted user accounts through Users and Security.

Disable or Delete in Bulk

If you have ten or more accounts to modify you may want to perform a bulk action. You can do this either through Web Services or by submitting a General Work Request with the list of usernames to Disable or Delete. 

Disable and Delete Buttons Unavailable

There are some user accounts that you cannot delete or disable through the Edit User page. Reviewing the Why can't this user be deleted? pop-up will indicate what is preventing you from deleting the account.


Why can't this user be deleted? link example.

For assistance in resolving these items, submit a General work request to Faculty Success (see Submitting Work Requests for more details on submitting this type of work request).

Note: You cannot delete users who have submitted work requests.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more
How to Contact Support
Click here to submit a ticket for the Support Team.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for free webinars, workshops, certifications, and free on-demand training