Launching a Schedule for a Workflow Process

You can access the Workflow Administrator Certification videos here.

Launching a Schedule

Once you have a Schedule created and saved, you should take a few moments to review and confirm all details of your Workflow Process. Once you have done this, you can click the "Confirm" button on the Edit Schedule screen.

When you click "Confirm," the system will run validation in the background to make sure there are no further issues to address. Please be aware that once you Confirm the process, you will only be able to modify some of its settings. You will not be able to change the subjects or associated Role Groups for that particular process. All participants will be set at the moment you click "Confirm."

For these reasons, we recommend waiting until close to the Launch date to make this selection, so any unexpected changes — like changes to faculty subjects, role group assignments, etc. — can be made if necessary.

Upon clicking "Confirm," the status in the Schedules table will then be updated to "Confirming" while Workflow validates all of the Schedules selections. Once the validation is complete, the status will update to one of the following:

  • "Confirmed" if the validation was successful and the launch date is in the future.
  • "Open" if the validation was successful and the launch date is today.
  • "Confirmation Failed" if the validation uncovered errors. Details on the errors detected will display at the top of the page when you go back in to edit the Schedule.

Once the validation has successfully completed, no further administrative actions need to be taken. The process will launch on the specified date, and the appropriate users will receive email notifications if they have been configured.

Editing Settings for Launched Schedules

Changing Assigned Reviewers in a Launched Schedule

If you need to change the reviewer assignment(s) for your launched schedule, you can do so by first viewing the role group from the affected step, and then selecting to edit the reviewers. You can replace administrative reviewers, and add/remove/replace committee members. These changes will impact the open submissions associated with the schedule and take effect immediately.

See How to Adjust Reviewers or Committee Members Post-Launch for more details.

Changing Due Dates in a Launched Schedule

If you need to change the due dates for steps in your launched schedule, you can do so by editing each affected step. Please note that if you edit a step’s due date to fall after the due dates you originally configured for subsequent steps, you’ll also need to update those subsequent steps’ due dates as well before you can save your changes to the schedule. The system will provide prompts to help you identify which other steps need new due dates.

Once you save your changes, the updated due dates will take effect across all remaining open submissions for that schedule.

Changing Reporting Dates in a Launched Schedule

You can also adjust the reporting dates used to run the activity reports that are attached to a step in your process. To do so, edit the step’s settings in your schedule, and once you’ve applied new reporting dates, save the schedule.

When you save updated reporting dates for a schedule you’ve already launched, you’ll also choose how the new dates should affect the reports already attached to existing submissions. Keep in mind that the reports are initially run and attached when the schedule launches, and users can (and should) refresh them before they submit their step. With that in mind, the two options for applying new reporting dates are to:

  1. “Save” the new reporting dates but not proactively refresh reports on behalf of users. This is your best option if you want to give your users a choice over if/when they refresh their report to use the new start and end dates.
  2. “Save and Refresh” to apply the new reporting dates to all submissions and proactively refresh the attached reports on behalf of your users. This is a good option if you’re making the report date change well before anyone’s actually engaged in the process (e.g., you just launched and need to correct a date typo). It can get hairier if you’re changing the reporting dates after some users have already proceeded past the step where they’re attached.

Canceling Emails for Steps in a Launched Schedule

If you need to cancel pending emails for a launched schedule, you can do so for individual steps using the Active/Inactive toggle in the Email OptionsConfigure area.

Note: Toggling emails for a step to "inactive" will cancel all scheduled emails for that step, and you will not be able to reactivate those emails.

Terminating a Schedule

You may encounter cases where a Schedule needs to be rolled back immediately after launching to make corrections to your Template or Schedule. The Terminate function (found under "Actions" for any Open schedules) can be used for this purpose.

Note: The Terminate action can not be undone and it results in deleting all submission data associated with the Schedule. Only utilize this function if absolutely necessary.

 

The Workflow module is available to add to Faculty Success for an additional fee. To learn more about adding it for your institution, please contact your Client Success Manager.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

How to Contact Support
Click the "Submit A Request" button at the top right or bottom of the screen to create a case.
Watermark Academy
Click to access the Watermark Academy for free webinars, workshops, certifications, and free on-demand training