Users cannot be deleted through System Administration. Remove all roles to suspend access while preserving contributions; restore access by assigning appropriate roles. Contact support if you must remove all traces of a user.
Deactivate Users by Removing Roles
In order to maintain data integrity, users cannot be deleted from the System Administration user interface (UI).
Instead, you can remove the user's access to the product, also known as "suspending" their account. Follow the steps below to remove a user's access:
How to remove the user's roles
- In System Administration, click the People tab
- Search for the user
- Click into the User
- Click Edit Details
- Deselect roles
- Click Save
Once you have removed the user's roles, the system considers users with no roles as “inactive” rather than fully deleted. This ensures that their contributions stay in the system, but they no longer appear as active participants.
Note: If a user attempts to access their account, they will receive a message that their account is "suspended."
If you absolutely must remove all traces of a user (e.g. duplicate users), please submit a request to our support team.
What to do if a user says their account is "suspended"
- In System Administration, click the People tab
- Search for the user
- Click into the User
- Click Edit Details
- Select the appropriate role(s)
- Click Save